ad hoc, Coordination and Other

Coordination Committees

Professional Associations Coordination Committee
reviews resolutions put forward by professional associations, advises the Provincial Executive on matters pertaining to professional associations, assists associations in carrying out their mandates, monitors the activities of associations and provides a communication channel between the Provincial Executive and professional associations.

  • Teri Cochrane, NSSCA, 2016
  • Mike Landry, SAA, 2016
  • Steve Ranni, TAPHE, 2016
  • Jane Berrigan, AST, 2017
  • Holly MacDonald, ATYA, 2017
  • Beth MacInnis, PISA, 2017
  • Allister Wadden, Executive Member
  • Adela Njie, NSTU Staff Liaison


Distance Education
Addresses distance education issues and is comprised of representatives from the NSTU, the Department of Education and the Nova Scotia School Boards Association.

  • Donnie Holland, Northside Victoria
  • Leonard Hornung, Digby
  • Patsy Height-Lewis, Yarmouth
  • Simon Wilkin, NSTU Staff Liaison
Insurance Trustees
Oversees the operation of the NSTU Group Insurance Plan which offers Life, Optional Life, Accidental Death and Dismemberment, Total Care/Medical, Total Care/Dental, LTD, MEDOC®, Travel and Trip Cancellation, Critical Illness, EFAP, and Automobile and Home Insurance.
  • Wanda Rodgerson Fuller, Chair, Yarmouth, 2017
  • Sharon Midwinter, Cumberland, 2017
  • Michael Cameron, Kings, 2018
  • Ronnie Carew, Cape Breton District, 2020
  • Jason Ralph, Halifax County, 2021
  • Sheila Hawley, Inverness, 2021
  • Bruce Spares, NSCC
  • Joe MacEachern, Department of Education
  • Joan Ling, NSTU Executive Director
  • Janine Kerr, NSTU Staff Liaison

Program Development Assistance Fund (PDAF)
Committee Reviews applications for financial assistance to support innovative curriculum projects and awards grants to successful applicants.

  • Angela Wisen, Halifax County, 2017
  • Kenna MacLean, Cape Breton District, 2018
  • Alex Bruce, Department of Education
  • Roy Bourgeois, Department of Education
  • Gérard Cormier, Chair, NSTU Staff Liaison 

Content Editorial Team

  • Nicole Delory
  • Bernadette Julian
  • Tami Cox Jardine
  • Lindsay MacInnis
  • Debbie McIsaac, Editor
  • Paul Hamer, Graphic Designer
  • Melissa MacInnis, Communications Support Specialist