Sheonoroil Foundation

The Sheonoroil Foundation is a registered charity supporting research, inquiry, reflection, writing, distribution of information and interventions that focus on all forms of violence in the public school and community college systems, including anti-violence and peaceful schools initiatives.

Established by the NSTU in 1999, it operates with a Board of Directors. The Foundation will extend financial resources to any active or retired member of the Nova Scotia Teachers Union, to any group of active or retired NSTU members, or to any group of public school or community college students working in cooperation with a teacher/faculty advisor.

Funding grants shall be awarded to anti-violence programs that have a direct and immediate impact on classrooms, students, teachers, faculty, staff, administration and community.

Further information on the Sheonoroil Foundation, and application forms for grants, are available on the Sheonoroil website or by email

Board of Directors

Joan Ling, Chair, Executive Director, NSTU
Debbie McVeigh, Community College, 2017
Krista Moore, Digby, 2017 (1 year term replacement)
Angela Gillis, Hallifax City, 2018
Jennifer Field, Cumberland, 2019
Vera Ryan, Yarmouth, 2019
Damian Hall, Executive Member
Wanda Rodgerson Fuller, Insurance Trustees
Liette Doucet, NSTU President
Betty-Jean Aucoin, Coordinator, Executive Staff Officer NSTU